Isabelle Huppert heads the jury for the "Golden Coconut Award" competition of the Second HIFF

By Chen Shumin and Li Yanmei / hiHainan / Updated: 2019-11-29,17:33

On the evening of November 28th, the organizing committee of the Second Hainan International Film Festival revealed the jury list for the "Golden Coconut Award" competition. Headed by Isabelle Huppert, the jury consists of six heavyweights, such as Abel Ferrara, Jiang Wenli, Milcho Manchevski, Chen Sicheng, Aruna Vasudev and Thomas Sotinel.

The "Golden Coconut Award" is a new competition unit opened for the first time and sponsored by the China Media Group. It sets up three categories of feature films, documentary films and short films, as well as ten prizes for best picture, best director, best actor, best actress, best screenplay, best artistic contribution, best children’s picture, special jury prize, best documentary and best short film.  

It is learned that the organizing committee has received thousands of films from nearly 100 countries and regions, among which many have been shortlisted for the Berlin Film Festival, Venice Film Festival, Cannes Film Festival, Busan International Film Festival, Toronto International Film Festival and other major international films. Not a few new films by Chinese directors are also included.


Brief introduction of the jury:


Isabelle Huppert

Isabelle Huppert is a French actress and one of the most influential actresses in the world, who has appeared in more than 120 films. She is the most nominated actress for the César Award with 16 nominations and has won the award for Best Actress twice at Cannes Film Festival and twice at Venice Film Festival. She was appointed as head of the jury for the 62nd Cannes Film Festival.


Abel Ferrara

Abel Ferrara is an American director, screenwriter, actor, producer and editor. In 1993, his film "Body Snatchers" was shortlisted in Competition – Feature Films at Cannes Film Festival. In 1995 the film "The Addiction" was nominated for the Golden Bear award at the Berlin Film Festival. In 1996, he was nominated for the film "The Funeral" at Venice Film Festival. His films were shortlisted for the Venice Film Festival 12 times and won 7 different honors.


Jiang Wenli

Jiang Wenli is a Chinese actress and director and known for "And the Spring Comes", for which she won Best Actress from the 2nd Rome Film Festival and the 27th Golden Rooster Awards. In 2009, her directorial debut "Let's Meet in the Heaven" won the Audience Award at the 14th Busan International Film Festival.


Milcho Manchevski

Milcho Manchevski is a well-known Macedonian-born film director and screenwriter. His film "Before the Rain" (1994) won the Golden Lion at the Venice Film Festival and was nominated for an Academy Award, along with 30 other awards.


Chen Sicheng

Chen Sicheng is a Chinese actor, director and screenwriter. In 2001, he won the Best Newcomer Award of China Huabiao Film Awards. The film he starred in 2006 was shortlisted at the Cannes Film Festival. His directorial debut "Beijing Love Story" was screened in 2014. The "Detective Chinatown" series he directed since 2015 has yielded the box office of over 4 billion yuan in China's mainland.

Aruna Vasudev

Aruna Vasudev is an Indian critic, author, editor, painter, maker of documentaries and is considered an eminent scholar on Asian cinema. In 1991, she founded the Network for the Promotion of Asia Film Promotion Alliance (NETPAC), making great contribution to promote Asian films worldwide.

Thomas Sotinel

Thomas Sotinel is a journalist and film critic for the French newspaper Le Monde. He has served as a judge for film festivals all over the world, and has covered film directors and film productions around the world for a long time. He was a judge of the " Un Certain Regard " competition unit at the Cannes Film Festival in 2001 and a judge of the Hong Kong International Film Festival in 2017.



Having questions about living or working in Hainan? Leave it below. 

We shall contact you by email once we have the answers for your questions.

Our Privacy Statement & Cookie Policy

By continuing to browser our site and use the services you agree to our use of cookies, Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. You can change your cookie settings through your browser.

I agree